“What does a cooking brain smell like?”

Posted by Sidney III from Memphis, with love . . 

That is the question that Mrs. Patton asked me – a legitimate question, to be sure.  But before I answer that question we need a little context.

I started radiation treatments a couple of weeks ago.  It takes about 15 minutes every weekday, in a room with a machine that looks like an X-ray machine.  It looks like that because it is.

The machine that treats me also takes x-ray images of my skull and spine once a week.  These images are used to make sure the powerful, damaging radiation goes to the right spots and doesn’t cause damage to more of my body than necessary.

X-ray machines shoot a type of electromagnetic radiation, called x-rays, through the patient.  These x-rays pass right through flesh and organs but are blocked by bones.  By measuring the radiation that comes out the other side of the patient, the machine creates a detailed image of one’s bones.

This same type of x-ray radiation is used to kill cancer cells.  The difference is, that in order to kill cancer, the radiation must be more powerful, so powerful it breaks apart the strands of DNA in my cells.

That sounds bad.  Without DNA, cells are unable to replicate themselves, and they die.  But the human body excels at healing itself, so the healthy cells in my body repair their DNA and keep going, doing all the things that cells do.

But cancer cells are mutations.  Their DNA is already damaged, and they are unable to repair the additional damage caused by radiation.  Thus, the cancer cells die.  The healthy cells heal.

“Ok, we get it, now what does a cooking brain smell like?”  I hear you say.  Ok, here we go:

Normal x-ray images use the lowest dose of radiation possible.  These doses are painless and don’t cause significant cellular damage.  I wasn’t expecting to see, feel, or smell anything when I went in for my first treatment.

However, I saw a bright blue light, and smelled a mixture of Clorox, pennies, and electricity.

Upon being unbound from the table and exiting the radiation room with concrete walls, six feet thick and a 12 inch thick steel door, I commented on the lights and smell to the radiation technician, who looks confused and says, “What light?  What smell?”

Actually, neither the light nor the smell are real.  I see the light and smell the pungent odor of baking brain because radiation hits my optic and olfactory nerves, stimulating false messages to my brain.

So while my cooking brain may not emit odors from inside it’s cocoon of spinal fluid and bone, I do smell something foul.

Interestingly, not all patients experience the smell and light.  It depends on the dosage, the area being radiated, and the person.

That’s what’s happening here in Memphis!  I may post again if I find Elvis’s secret bunker at Graceland. (We all know he’s not dead, just hiding somewhere.  Don’t buy the lies fed to us by the Illuminati!)

Thank you everyone for your support on this journey!

Sidney

One thought on ““What does a cooking brain smell like?”

  1. Hi Sidney, thank you for your writing and providing all of us at home your journey. Everyday at least one person will ask me, “How is Sidney doing?” Most often I do not have an answer. People ask me, “How are you doing?” I find that a very hard question to answer and in some ways a very strange question for someone to ask. I understand logically why they ask. So, I will continue to answer that question logically as I can. So again, Thank you for sharing in your logical manner -of- fact Sidney fashion. I anxiously wait for your next entry. Love, Aunt BreeBree

Leave a Reply

